This past year has been difficult on relationships, and not just on romantic partnerships. Long-term friendships and family bonds have also been tested.

We know that love can be expressed in so many ways and often we express love in the way that we would like to receive it ourselves. Understanding the way in which you would like to be loved, whether it’s from a romantic partner, your best friend, or a sibling, is the first step in understanding yourself a bit better.

In the spirit of Valentine’s Day, we’d like to celebrate love in a different way— through an exploration of the five love languages and how scent can be a part of this communication.


Love languages stretch beyond being romantic,

into friendships and the most important relationship

we can have — the one with ourselves.




Words of Affirmation

If words of affirmation is your love language, then spontaneous compliments mean the world to you. Hearing ‘I love you’ is important, but hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. We all know how challenging it is to be kind to ourselves. Take some time to practice self-love by claiming time for yourself, whether it be a bath, some yoga, or meditation. And remember to give yourself your own words of affirmation.

If you’re looking for the perfect scent to burn whilst relaxing in a bath, then rose, lavender and sandalwood are all good choices, due to their calming properties and anti-anxiety effects.


Physical Touch

Hugs, back rubs, kisses, cuddles, and thoughtful touches on the arm can all be ways to express affection and love, whether it’s intimate or not. If this is your love language, physical affection is your primary form of expression and receiving love. Appropriate and timely touches communicate warmth, safety, and love, and physical touch is one of the best ways to foster feelings of connectedness.

Rose, jasmine and ylang-ylang are wonderful scents to burn in an intimate setting with a loved one – and they’re all aphrodisiacs too!




Quality Time

If this is your love language, nothing says “I love you” like full undivided attention and sometimes that means one-on-one interactions. Whether its spending uninterrupted time or doing activities together, you strengthen your connection with others through sharing time.

If you’re spending time at home – like most of us right now – with a loved one or best friend, we recommend burning a woody floral scent which can add warmth without being overpowering. Bring out a bottle of wine, a puzzle or cards and spend some overdue quality time together.


Receiving Gifts

Receiving gifts is far from being materialistic. The receiver focuses on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind any gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. Gifts, like physical touch, can be symbols of someone else’s love and affection for you.

Gifts should always strive to be a combination of personal and thoughtful. A gifted Scent subscription, whether it’s for yourself or your loved one, matches candles to the scents that you love. Not only will you discover new candles, but you’ll forever associate the scent and the person who gifted it.




Acts of Service

If last year taught us anything, it has taught us to be compassionate and lend a supportive hand to those in need. Anything you can do to ease the burden weighing on someone is an act of love that speaks volumes. When others serve you out of love, and not obligation, you feel truly valued and cared for, so why not help others feel the same?

You may be thinking that all of the love languages apply to you to some degree. But most of us value certain love languages above others, and understanding your own and your loved one’s primary languages can contribute to a happy and harmonious relationship, especially during challenging times.